Richard Childress Nominated to the Motorsports Hall of Fame

From Richard Childress Racing

The Motorsports Hall of Fame announced today that Richard Childress, chairman and CEO of Richard Childress Racing, was nominated to its 2016 class of inductees. Childress is one of seven individuals scheduled to be inducted into the hall of fame which honors and preserves the achievements of the greatest legends of motorsports on land, sea and in the air.

“This is a special honor to be recognized by the Motorsports Hall of Fame,” Childress said. “To be part of the first class inducted at the newly renovated Daytona International Speedway will be unique and the racers enshrined in this hall of fame are from across the entire motorsports world. I want to thank Ron Watson and all of the Motorsports Hall of Fame’s board members for considering me for this prestigious award.”

Childress has accumulated more than 100 victories in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and more than 200 wins in NASCAR’s top three touring series as owner of RCR. With driver Dale Earnhardt and the legendary No. 3 car, Childress won Sprint Cup championships in 1986, 1987, 1990, 1991, 1993 and 1994. He has also recorded multiple driver and owner championships in the NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Childress is also a two-time winner of the Daytona 500 (1998 and 2007).

The induction is set for Wednesday, June 29 at the newly renovated Daytona International Speedway prior to the Coke Zero 400 race weekend. The Motorsports Hall of Fame is currently moving its facilities into the “World Center of Racing” after spending more than two decades in Detroit, Michigan. The move to DIS concurrent with the completion of the $400 million DAYTONA Rising redevelopment project will expose thousands of new racing fans to the wide range of American motorsports.

“Richard Childress being inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America the same year the Hall moves to Daytona International Speedway – talk about the stars aligning,” said Motorsports Hall of Fame president Ron Watson. “It’s so appropriate that in the city where NASCAR began, one of NASCAR’s true legendary figures will be honored in this manner. We are so proud to have him join our illustrious list of inductees.”

Some notable current members of the MHOF include former RCR driver, Dale Earnhardt; legendary Indy Car drivers Mario Andretti, A.J. Foyt and Rick Mears; and NASCAR greats Junior Johnson, Richard Petty, Rusty Wallace and Cale Yarborough.

About Evan Schumacher

Thank you for taking the time and checking out my site. Please poke around and feel free to leave a comment.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

What is your opinion?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: