Hendrick, Gordon, Elliott to be honored by Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame

From Hendrick Motorsports 

CONCORD, N.C. — In a little more than two weeks, Hendrick Motorsports Owner Rick Hendrick and drivers Jeff Gordon and Chase Elliott will add another honor to their resumes.

The Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame will honor all three on April 9 at its annual gala in The Speedway Club’s Grand Ballroom at Texas Motor Speedway, and the banquet will benefit Speedway Children’s Charities.

Hendrick will become the 17th individual inducted into the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame.

At Texas Motor Speedway, Hendrick Motorsports has earned six wins — the second-most by a team — six pole positions, 28 top-five finishes and 49 top-10s.

Most recently, Jimmie Johnson headed to Victory Lane at the track in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup last season.

Gordon will be honored with the Texas Motor Speedway Sportsmanship Award, with a nod to the Jeff Gordon Children’s Foundation. The foundation has raised more than $15 million for children’s health organizations. In addition, the Jeff Gordon Corvette Raffle raised $425,000 for Speedway Children’s Charities.

Elliott, meanwhile, will receive the Texas Motor Speedway Racer of the Year Award. On April 4, 2014, he became the first XFINITY Series rookie driver to win at Texas Motor Speedway. Later in the year, the eventual series champion took home his second top-five finish at the track in the second XFINITY race at Texas Motor Speedway.

Other honorees include Darrell Waltrip — who drove for Hendrick Motorsports from 1987-90 — and Duck Commander.

Table sponsorships and individual tickets to the gala are available by calling the Speedway Children’s Charities office at (817) 215-8421.

About Evan Schumacher

Thank you for taking the time and checking out my site. Please poke around and feel free to leave a comment.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

What is your opinion?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: