Five teams scheduled for Goodyear Tire Test at Michigan International Speedway on April 8-9

From Michigan International Speedway 

Michigan International Speedway and Goodyear Tire will host five NASCAR Sprint Cup Series teams April 8-9 for tire testing at the fastest track in NASCAR.

The following drivers are scheduled to test.

  • No. 15 Clint Bowyer
  • No. 16 Greg Biffle
  • No. 21 Trevor Bayne
  • No. 31 Ryan Newman
  • No. 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr.

The track will open the Turn 1 Grandstand from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. both days for fans to watch the test free of charge.

Fans are asked to park in Lot 10 off US 12 and enter the grandstand through Gate 17, just behind the water tower. Restroom facilities will be available. Fans are also allowed to bring in coolers that meet the MIS grandstand policies for race weekend.

“It’s been a long winter across the country, especially in Michigan. We’re happy Spring has finally arrived, which will give us a chance to open Michigan International Speedway for all the great race fans for some Goodyear testing,” track President Roger Curtis said.

Testing times, track schedule and drivers are subject to change due to weather or other circumstances.

NASCAR has taken significant steps toward improving on-track competition for events, releasing new aerodynamic regulations for its flagship Sprint Car Series GEN-6 race cars during the off-season. NASCAR wants to make it easier for cars to pass each other and reduce the aerodynamic advantage the leading car has over the car behind it.

These changes have been apparent this season in producing some exciting NASCAR Sprint Cup Series racing over the past five weeks at five different tracks.

MIS will host a pair of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races this summer. The top series comes to the Irish Hills for the Quicken Loans 400 on Sunday, June 15 and returns just two months later for the Pure Michigan 400 on Sunday, August 17.

Last year, Joey Logano posted a track qualifying mark of 203.949 mph for the Pure Michigan 400. The speed was ninth-fastest pole-winning speed in NASCAR Sprint Cup Series history and the fastest pole-winning speed other than Talladega Superspeedway and Daytona International Speedway. Greg Biffle pulled into victory lane for the Quicken Loans 400 while Logano took the checkered flag for the Pure Michigan 400 in 2013.


About Evan Schumacher

Thank you for taking the time and checking out my site. Please poke around and feel free to leave a comment.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

What is your opinion?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: