NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Subway Fresh Fit 500 from the Phoenix International Raceway Pre-Race Report

Track: Phoenix International Raceway

Track Specifications: 1.0-mile oval

Laps: 312

Miles: 312

Scheduled Green Flag: 3:14 pm/et

Weather: Partly Cloudy 82 Degrees with a 10% chance of rain

Defending Winner: Denny Hamlin 

Television: FOX

Rowdy’s Pick: Mark Martin

The second race of the 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series campaign will get underway Sunday from the Phoenix International Raceway in Avondale, Arizona.

There have been 33 previous Sprint Cup Series races at the Phoenix International Raceway. Alan Kulwicki won the first ever Sprint Cup Series race at the raceway on November 6, 1988.

Jimmie Johnson has won at Phoenix four times in his career, which is the most among all drivers.

Denny Hamlin won the Sprint Cup Series race at the Phoenix International Raceway one year ago, and Kevin Harvick claimed the Fall Sprint Cup Series race at the Phoenix International Raceway.

Mark Martin was quickest in both practice sessions held Saturday and the driver of the No. 55 Toyota for Michael Waltrip Racing will lead the 43-car field to the green flag on Sunday. Kurt Busch (backup car) along with Kyle Busch (engine change) and Denny Hamlin (engine change) will go to the rear of the field prior to Sunday’s 312-mile race.

FOX will come on-air at 2:30 pm/et with the green flag scheduled for 3:14 pm/et. Mike Joy, Darrell Waltrip and Larry McReynolds will be in the booth along with Steve Byrnes, Matt Yocum and Krista Voda monitoring pit-road.

MRN will have the call on radio.

SPEED’s NASCAR Raceday Pre-Race Show with John Roberts, Kyle Petty and Kenny Wallace will come on-air at 12:30 pm/et on SPEED Channel.

Starting Lineup

Pit Stall Selections

First Practice Results

Second Practice Results

Final Practice Results

Past Phoenix Sprint Cup Winners 

2012 – Kevin Harvick

2012 – Denny Hamlin

2011 – Kasey Kahne

2011 – Jeff Gordon

2010 – Carl Edwards

2010 – Ryan Newman

2009 – Jimmie Johnson

2009 – Mark Martin

2008 – Jimmie Johnson

2008 – Jimmie Johnson

2007 – Jimmie Johnson

2007 – Jeff Gordon

2006 – Kevin Harvick

2006 – Kevin Harvick

2005 – Kyle Busch

2005 – Kurt Busch

2004 – Dale Earnhardt Jr.

2003 – Dale Earnhardt Jr.

2002 – Matt Kenseth

2001 – Jeff Burton

About Evan Schumacher

Thank you for taking the time and checking out my site. Please poke around and feel free to leave a comment.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

What is your opinion?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: